LEARNED BY YOU


1.jpgshutterstock.com

“You are ostentatious,”
so you said,
silently,
I let the comment go,
but saying it the second time and another,
then among my peers,
it evoked emotions I had never
allowed to come surface.

Mother,
your character is all I lived to emulate,
I thought you were the best,
I believed that you possessed amazing virtues,
such that left an aromatic trail in their wake.

Yet now you say that about me,
I worked to so hard to portray what I saw in you,
are you insinuating that you are showy or pretentious?
I elicited it all from you,
but if you so desire that I change,
throw some compliments amidst the corrections,
rather than insult me,
I guess it will work better

Posted on Daily Post- Ostentatious, Elicit, Aromatic

One thought on “LEARNED BY YOU

Leave a Reply

