CHRISTMAS TODAY


6a00d8341bffb053ef0133ec634f82970b-640wi.jpg

tuituiratatui.com

As a child, Christmas was about chocolates, food and soda. That was all that mattered. It was not Christmas enough if any of that was lacking, not to mention extended family and fun.

As I grew older, the festive spirit seemed to fade. Not just with me, but the entire household. With realities of life setting in and mother more bitter than jolly, the house got gloomy. However, we were glad that father was forever jovial, always ready to make anyone smile despite the prevailing circumstances.

As an adult, with children of my own, I miss the childhood days. I miss the spirit of Christmas, the natural Christmas trees that have now been replaced by plastic ones, and so much more.

However, as I walk closer with Christ, Christmas is more about renewing my commitment to my Savior. It is time to reflect on all that He has done, how my walk with Him has been and looking on how to get closer to Him.

It is more of holding a retreat with my King. It may not be childish jovial anymore, but it soothes the soul and renews my strength; a feeling I can never trade for anything.

As I learn more about Him, I desire and work on teaching my children about Him. It is not  as easy as 1+1, but He gives me the grace. I pray that I will teach them what I have learned about Him.

Posted on Daily Post – Retreat, Festive, Renewal

Leave a Reply

