WITHIN THESE WALLS


Photo Prompt by TJ Paris

Within these walls, I was nurtured,
within these walls, I learned to learn,
within these walls, I was taught to appreciate,
within these walls, I was taught to teach.

Hard was the journey,
but isn’t it always that way?
the tutors were gruelling,
but what better way to tame the hard person I was?

My son, 
I am a better person because I chose,
I chose to sit at the fit of my Lord and be mentored,
whoever came my way, 
was an angel sent my way by Him,
for my growth.

I am forever in awe,
of them that found time,
that spared resources to see to it that I learn.

My pride was broken,
my ignorance was shuttered,
my brains were sharpened,
because I chose to listen,
I chose to follow,
I chose to humble myself.

My daughter,
when the opportunity knocks,
let it not knock to nought,
invite wisdom in,
because it is the principle thing.

2 thoughts on “WITHIN THESE WALLS

Leave a Reply

