IN HIS HONOUR


Lantern

https://pixabay.com/en/lantern-old-lantern-brush-sack-316689/

Cleaning out grand father’s collection in the attic brought us to this lamp and brush. Beside it was a note, “If you find this, that means that I have been dead for a while now. My dying wish is that you will bury this near my grave.”

That sent chills down my spine. But desiring to honour grandpa’s dying wish, I asked Channel to go downstairs and dig up a hole near grand pa’s grave. She gave me a weird look, so I asked her, “didn’t you bring a shovel?”

“What for?” she retorted, “we only came to snoop around and not to dig up holes or graves.”

Sending her on her way to find one, I carried the lantern and brush down the barn where grandpa lay.

Digging up a hole big enough to buy the items, we called it a night. It had been weird enough, we did not want anymore. We would carry on from there the next day.

FLASH FICTION FOR THE PURPOSEFUL PRACTITIONER: WEEK #19 – 2016

Leave a Reply

