HER RESOLVE


images (8)

theguardian.com

Behind her smile,
Behind her walk,
Behind her humorous talk,
Lay a secret so dark.

Like the shadows in the cemetery, it haunted her,
A constant companion, night and day,
In her solace,
The monsters jumped out at her mercilessly.

They were the scars of yesterday,
The were the memories of abandonment,
Memories of music gone bad.

How was she to leave them behind,
Yet they seemed to hide in the depths of her heart?
While others listened to beautiful serenades,
she was forced to listen to trailers of horror movies,
all playing out in her mind.

“Why had mother entrusted my tender soul with that monster?”
“Why had she felt a sense of contentment with him?”
“I have forever felt abandoned.”
“While my age mates dance to the tunes synonymous to their age,
I dance to tunes of abuse, rage, and anger.”

“But I have a determination, a resolve that none will stop,”
“I will make it past the scars, the abandonment,”
“The tunes of my music shall change for better,”
“It shall be music I love”
“Not that which irks me”
“I shall triumph over my past,”
“I shall win,”
“I shall live again”

 

Posted on Daily Post – Scars Abandoned Music

2 thoughts on “HER RESOLVE

Leave a Reply

